Special Adaptations, Volume 1


Alex Levine: guitar, composition
Stefano Grasso: percussion, effects
Ben Rolston: bass
Andrea Jimmy Catagnoli: alto sax
Stephen Boegehold: drums

CD – 11 tracks – 42:26

Edition of 300 copies
Released in April 2021

In stock



Buy lossless digital version in our Bandcamp digital store


01. Il Bosco – 08:26
02. Heed the Periphery – 04:35
03. Lasso di Tempo – 01:45
04. Down on the Antfarm – 02:20
05. Milanoni – 04:46
06. Kaleidoscope – 02:23
07. Legato alle Nuvole – 04:06
08. Geminifico – 01:16
09. Fuori Fuoco – 05:55
10. Bellano Lake – 06:16
11. Titoli di Coda – 00:16

Total Time: 42:26



Tracks composed by Alex Levine

Recorded by Il Lorenz at Il Guscio Recordings, Milan on November 20th 2019

Mixed by Juanma Trujillo in New York in August 2020

Mastered by Eivind Opsvik at Greenwood Underground in Brooklyn, New York in August 2020

Graphic design by Sandro Crisafi

Produced by Alex Levine, Stefano Grasso and Aut Records


These recordings are the result of a two weeks residency that took place at Mare Culturale Urbano, in Milan, between the 11th and the 24th of November 2019. This band is a collaborative project between American musicians Alex Levine, Ben Rolston, and Stephen Boegehold, and Italian musicians Stefano Grasso and Andrea Jimmy Catagnoli.
 Special Adaptations was made possible thanks to the coordinated work of many people from different cities and countries. For this reason, we would like to dedicate Volume 1 to fair cooperation between humans and to the possibility of building creative networks between people from all over the world.

You may also like…