Inner Core


Gaia Mattiuzzi: vocals
Alessandro Lanzoni: piano
Gabriele Evangelista: double bass
Enrico Morello: drums

Philipp Gropper: tenor saxophone on tracks 5 and 7
Grischa Lichtenberger: electronics and production on track 7
Alfonso Santimone: electronics on tracks 1, 2, and 6
Wanja Slavin: electronics on track 3
Elias Stemeseder: synthesizer on track 5
Ludwig Wandinger: electronics and production on track 5

CD and Digital Download – 7 tracks – 39:14 minutes
Edition of 200 copies

Released in November 2022

Out of stock



Buy lossless digital version in our Bandcamp digital store


01. Calyx 4:02
02. The Way of Memories 6:30
03. About the End of Love 5:54
04. From Dewy Dreams 3:08

05. The Last Flower in my Hair 6:06

06. Riding a Photon 8:11
07. Winds of May (0517_05_re0417_03) 5:12

Total time: 39.14

Track 1 by Phil Miller
Track 2 by Achille Succi
Track 3 by Alessandro Lanzoni
Track 4 by Gabriele Evangelista
Track 5 by Gaia Mattiuzzi
Track 6 by Alfonso Santimone
Track 7 by Gaia Mattiuzzi, Grischa Lichtenberger, Philipp Gropper

Track 1 by Robert Wyatt
Tracks 2,3,4,7 by James Joyce, excerpted from Chamber Music
Track 5 by Gaia Mattiuzzi


Recorded by Stefano Bechini at Entropya Recording Studio in Perugia on October 4th and 5th, 2019.
Additional voice on tracks 1,2,3,4,6, and 7 recorded by Wanja Slavin at Forest Studio in Steinbeck, Brandenburg on September 28th and 19th, 2020.
Additional voice on track 5 recorded by Stefano Greco at Blau Studio in Milano on June 3rd, 2021

Mixed by Stefano Bechini at Green Brain Studio in Piancastagnaio, Siena on December 21st and 22nd, 2021, except track 5 mixed by Ludwig Wandinger

Mastered by Stefano Bechini at Green Brain Studio in Piancastagnaio, Siena on December 23rd, 2021

Cover Photo by Barbara Rigon

Graphics and layout by Marco Maldarella

Produced by Gaia Mattiuzzi and Aut Records


“Inner Core” refers to the innermost layer of the planet, the ‘heart’, the ‘solid core’, composed mainly of iron, metaphorically a place of the soul that brings us back to the essence, to our truth, to our strength, to the center from which to start again. From this intimate perspective, Gaia Mattiuzzi leads us through an adventurous journey by means of her voice and with the company of an excellent international line-up.

With an entirely original repertoire with the exception of the first track, which is a composition by Phil Miller and Robert Wyatt, Mattiuzzi focused on making a record that could fully represent her personal musical world through song form, jazz, and contemporary languages up to electronic landscapes.

The album went through two distinct phases of production, the acoustic part in quartet was recorded in Italy towards the end of 2019 with the invaluable contribution of Alessandro Lanzoni on piano, Gabriele Evangelista on double bass, and Enrico Morello on drums, and with creative contribution of pianist Alfonso Santimone, who in three tracks of the album gave his personal touch in post-production. The second phase took place in Berlin, where Gaia met some wonderful musicians, who prompted her to expand the post-production phase of the record.

Throughout the album the voice isn’t conceived to be just at the service of melody and lyrics, it also becomes an instrument, a pure sound abstraction that delves into the timbral spectrum in search of new colors, dimensions, and expressive possibilities.

You may also like…