Ignaz Schick

Appears on:

Ignaz Schick is a Berlin based sound artist, composer & visual artist. He also performs as instrumentalist on turntables, sampler, objects, electronics & alto/baritone saxophone.
In his youth he studied the saxophone & performed in free jazz & avant rock bands. At the same time he was getting obsessed with multitrack tape machines, record players and effect boxes & he started experimenting with self built instruments & sound making devices. After college he briefly studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich & worked as an assistant for contemporary composer Josef Anton Riedl. Since 1995 he lives and works in Berlin where he became an active & integral force of the so-called “Berlin Nouvelle Vague” & the blossoming experimental “Echtzeitmusik” scene. He has been prolific as curator and organizer of festivals (Festival für Andere Musik, Erase & Reset, Time Shifts, TITO, Echtzeitmusiktage 2010, Flux Festival 2018, Fuchsfest 2021, REFLUX Festival 2022, …) & runs the experimental music label Zarek.
He has been touring worldwide solo & with groups like Perlonex, Phosphor, Berlin Sound Connective, Nighthawk Kitchen, Tree People, Splitter Orchestra or ILOG and he has released over 75 albums on different international labels & his own imprint. Schick has collaborated with more than 200 international sonic artists – amongst others Mwata Bowden, Don Cherry, Douglas R. Ewart, Limpe Fuchs, Sven-Åke Johansson, George Lewis, Paul Lovens, Toshimaru Nakamura, Charlemagne Palestine, Andrea Parkins, Andrea Neumann, Keith Rowe, Akira Sakata or Martin Tetreault.
Since 2012 he concentrates on conceptual composition, sound installations & undertook various research trips to different cities of the Global South and directs the 12-15 piece workshop ensemble Circuit Training which focuses on conceptual, graphic & verbally instructed scores. Furthermore he has been frequently collaborating with musicians like John Butcher, Nick Dunston, Frank Gratkowski, Achim Kaufmann, Christian Lillinger, Rieko Okuda, Harri Sjöström or Oliver Steidle.